Points (historical)
Hyperliquid ran two points programmes: 1M points a week from November 2023 to May 2024, then 700k a week in an L1 phase from May to November 2024.
Points rewarded users for their activity, one week at a time. The docs say they were meant for users who contribute to the protocol’s success. Both programmes have ended, and the docs describe no current one.
Two programmes, scored weekly
Section titled “Two programmes, scored weekly”The first programme followed points for the closed alpha. Its criteria were updated on a recurring basis and never published in the docs. Referrers, called affiliates in the docs, earned 1 point for every 4 their referred users earned: 25 per cent. If your referred users earned 400 points in a week, you earned 100.
The L1 phase followed. Activity in the gap before it received a multiplier whose size the docs do not state. The docs also reserve Hyperliquid’s right to modify previous point distributions at its sole discretion.
The numbers
Section titled “The numbers”| Period | Dates | Points per week |
|---|---|---|
| Closed alpha | up to 31 October 2023 | not stated |
| First programme | 1 November 2023 to 1 May 2024 | 1,000,000 |
| Gap | 1 to 28 May 2024 | not stated; this activity received a multiplier |
| L1 phase | 29 May 2024 to November 2024 | 700,000 |
| Rule | Value |
|---|---|
| Weekly activity window | ends Wednesday 00:00 UTC |
| Distribution day | Thursday |
| Affiliate points | 1 for every 4 earned by referred users |
The first programme ran exactly 26 weeks (182 days, Wednesday to Wednesday), so its weekly figure implies about 26 million points. That total is arithmetic on the docs’ numbers, not a figure they state.
Referrals and fee discounts today
Section titled “Referrals and fee discounts today”Today’s incentives are the fee schedule, referrals and staking discounts on fees. Referrers earned points then; now they earn a share of fees.
What the docs leave out
Section titled “What the docs leave out”- The docs give no total for either phase, and the L1 phase’s end only as a month, so its length is uncertain to within a month.
- The docs do not say what points were later exchanged for, and neither does this page.
For the dates around both programmes, see the timeline; for the native token, see HYPE.